A strange method of soup-searching

For scripts to aid with computation or simulation in cellular automata.
googoIpIex

A strange method of soup-searching

Post by googoIpIex » February 28th, 2019, 5:14 pm

So I was wondering what would happen if you repeatedly filled the same, per se, 20x20 square every time the pattern settled down. however, I am not good at python and cannot make a script to do it, so I am fairly sure there's some easy way to do it, but I am not sure how.
woomy on a vroomy

pcallahan

Re: A strange method of soup-searching

Post by pcallahan » March 1st, 2019, 12:54 pm

googoIpIex wrote:So I was wondering what would happen if you repeatedly filled the same, per se, 20x20 square every time the pattern settled down. however, I am not good at python and cannot make a script to do it, so I am fairly sure there's some easy way to do it, but I am not sure how.
I had a similar idea in the early 90s and I am sure others have. It sounds like you are looking for some kind of fixed point in which the settled pattern works as a catalyst. I never had much luck with that, but it may be worth exploring with more modern tools and faster computers. Sorry, I can't help with the scripting, but I am curious to hear other replies.

One thing I would recommend is that you don't fill a 20x20 square every time but start with something smaller.

googoIpIex

Post by googoIpIex » March 1st, 2019, 4:59 pm

pcallahan wrote:
googoIpIex wrote:So I was wondering what would happen if you repeatedly filled the same, per se, 20x20 square every time the pattern settled down. however, I am not good at python and cannot make a script to do it, so I am fairly sure there's some easy way to do it, but I am not sure how.