Two Forbidden Directions

For general discussion about Conway's Game of Life.
Sam Alexander

Two Forbidden Directions

Post by Sam Alexander » August 2nd, 2010, 2:34 pm

Hello everybody, first time posting here :) I'm Sam Alexander, a logic phd student from Ohio State University. Used to think Life was just a silly diversion, until I realized it was a fertile ground for applying some graph theory I've been doing, and then when I started studying it I finally saw how deep the game is :)

Anyway, as I said, I've been doing some graph theory and found a way to apply it to Life. In this post, Nathaniel said:
c/3 seems to be the upper diagonal limit for rules without "2" in the birth list, and I'm not sure why *that* is.
I think I can explain that using this result I got called the Two Forbidden Directions result.

Definition: Given an initial life configuration, a "lifeline" is an infinite sequence c(1),c(2),... of cells, such that for every n:
1. c(n) is live in generation n
2. c(n+1)=c(n) or c(n+1) is a neighbor of c(n)

Basically, a lifeline is a way of "walking" through the game of life. You're only allowed to walk on live cells, and at each generation, you're allowed to stand still where you were, or walk to a neighbor. Here's an illustration of a lifeline in the glider, the blue cells are the lifeline:

Here's a theorem I proved using some new graph theory:

Theorem: Suppose you have an initial configuration with finitely many live cells, and that in the resulting Game of Life, the board doesn't ever become completely dead. Suppose any two directions (from among north, south, east, west, NE, NW, NE, SW, SE, "stand still") are "forbidden". Then, in the resulting Game of Life, there is a lifeline which never takes either of the forbidden directions.