ConwayLife.com - A community for Conway's Game of Life and related cellular automata
Home  •  LifeWiki  •  Forums  •  Download Golly

Help with Golly - rules

For general discussion about Conway's Game of Life.

Help with Golly - rules

Postby Linicks » January 10th, 2016, 11:16 am

How can I set Golly back to just use the basic Conway GOL rules - after loading a few things, it appears to stay in whatever rule set was last used - and looking at all the options, I haven't clue what I am supposed to be looking for to do this?

Any help appreciated, thanks,

Nick
Linicks
 
Posts: 33
Joined: November 14th, 2015, 6:28 am
Location: Pompey, England

Re: Help with Golly - rules

Postby drc » January 10th, 2016, 11:22 am

Control > Set Rule > Type "B3/S23" and set to "QuickLife" or "HashLife"
This post was brought to you by the letter D, for dishes that Andrew J. Wade won't do. (Also Daniel, which happens to be me.)
Current rule interest: B2ce3-ir4a5y/S2-c3-y
User avatar
drc
 
Posts: 1664
Joined: December 3rd, 2015, 4:11 pm
Location: creating useless things in OCA

Re: Help with Golly - rules

Postby Linicks » January 10th, 2016, 11:28 am

Ah, OK, I see. Thanks.

Now how do I reset the colours to red on black - somehow I am stuck on white and black now after running something from here?

Thanks,

Nick
Linicks
 
Posts: 33
Joined: November 14th, 2015, 6:28 am
Location: Pompey, England

Re: Help with Golly - rules

Postby drc » January 10th, 2016, 12:04 pm

Linicks wrote:Ah, OK, I see. Thanks.

Now how do I reset the colours to red on black - somehow I am stuck on white and black now after running something from here?

Thanks,

Nick

Change to RuleLoader with B3/S23
This post was brought to you by the letter D, for dishes that Andrew J. Wade won't do. (Also Daniel, which happens to be me.)
Current rule interest: B2ce3-ir4a5y/S2-c3-y
User avatar
drc
 
Posts: 1664
Joined: December 3rd, 2015, 4:11 pm
Location: creating useless things in OCA

Re: Help with Golly - rules

Postby Linicks » January 10th, 2016, 12:18 pm

Yea, I did that but the colours didn't reset. I managed to do manually via preferences->colour, but now understand what you mean - crikey, there are options within options to change everything in all sorts of permutations.

OK, I will have to mess about a bit to learn the interface better.

Thanks for your help,

Nick
Linicks
 
Posts: 33
Joined: November 14th, 2015, 6:28 am
Location: Pompey, England


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest